Darris Flanagan ’73, Fortine, received the Montana Historical Society Board of Trustees 2018 Montana Heritage Keeper Award for his tireless devotion to preserving and promoting Montana history. Formerly a history teacher, Flanagan has written numerous stories and pamphlets on pieces of Montana history, focusing especially on the culture of the Tobacco Valley. He works with the Historical Village in Eureka and the Tobacco Valley Board of History.


Michael Roney ’75, Jersey City, NJ, publishes business and lifestyle books through Highpoint Executive Publishing, which he founded in 2006. He also occasionally writes for Nokia and Forbes and enjoys living right across the river from lower Manhattan.

 Michael Roney

Philip A. May Ph.D. ’76, Salisbury, NC, earned an award from the National Institutes of Health for his work researching alcoholism and fetal alcohol syndrome. May is a research professor at the University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health, and his research focuses on risk factors for fetal alcohol spectrum disorder. He recently delivered the prestigious Mark Keller Honorary Lecture at the National Institute of Health.


 Philip A. May


Pat Darbro ’77, Bozeman, was inducted, along with his football team from Aurora, Nebraska, into the Nebraska High School Athletic Hall of Fame this past September for the golden anniversary of the team’s 50th season.

Megan McNamer ’77, Missoula, published her second novel, “Home Everywhere,” with Black Lawrence Press in 2018. The book tells a tale of confused tourists visiting an unnamed Asian country. Her first novel “Children and Lunatics,” won the Big Moose Prize from Black Lawrence Press in 2015.


Home Everywhere by Megan McNamer


Carol Ann Russell M.A. ’76, M.F.A. ’79, Bemidji, MN, was selected by the Region 2 Arts Council in Minnesota as a recipient of its 2018-19 Artist Fellowships. Russell has taught creative writing at Bemidji State University since 1988 and authored four books of poetry. St. Cloud State University presented her with its Distinguished Alumni Award in 1999, and over 100 literary journals from around the county have published her poetry.


Carol Ann Russell



Chris Zarba ’78, Annapolis, MD, retired as director of the Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board after 38 years of service. Zarba says, throughout those years, he had “the pleasure of working with many UM scientists, alumni and professors in past and ongoing efforts to protect human health and the environment for all Americans.”


Chris Zarba


Colleen McGuire ’79, Kalispell, was inducted into the Army Women’s Hall of Fame in March. She became the first woman to serve as commanding general of the United States Army Criminal Investigation Command and provost marshal general. She also was the first female to command the U.S. Disciplinary Barracks in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas and directed the Senior Leadership Development Office, and Office of the Chief of Staff; and led the Army Suicide Prevention Task Force.


Colleen McGuire