Awards and Accolades

Recent accomplishments from around campus


Categories: Alumni , Campus , Academic , Research

UM Cyberinfrastructure was awarded $395,000 from the National Science Foundation to build a high-performance computing cluster for UM researchers and students in support of scientific discovery. Zach Rossmiller, executive director of UM Cyberinfrastructure, will serve as the principal investigator for the one-year grant.

Zach Rossmiller, executive director of UM Cyberinfrastructure.


John McCutcheon, an associate professor in UM’s Division of Biological Sciences, earned the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) nomination from the National Science Foundation, which also awarded him its Faculty Early Career Development award in 2016. The PECASE award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government upon outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent research careers.

John McCutcheon, associate professor in UM's Division of Biological Sciences.


Oliver Serang, UM assistant professor of computer science, recently was awarded the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious award for junior faculty, the Faculty Early Career Development Progam (CAREER). Serang will apply the $1 million grant to address unmet computer science needs in analyzing mass spectrometry data.


Oliver Serang, UM assistant professor of computer science.


A radio documentary program produced by UM School of Journalism Director Denise Dowling, “Alex Not Amy: Growing Up Transgender in the Rural West,” won a prestigious national award from the Society of Professional Journalists for her radio documentary. The piece, which originally aired on Montana Public Radio, also was named a Regional Edward R. Murrow Award winner by the Radio Television Digital News Association and is now under consideration for a National Murrow Award as well. In addition, the documentary was named a finalist for an E.B. Craney Award from the Montana Broadcasters Association and the Greater Montana Foundation in the Radio Non-Commercial Program of the Year category.   

UM School of Journalism Director Denise Dowling.


UM’s Montana Geriatric Education Center was awarded a five-year, $3.75 million grant from the federal Health and Resources Administration. The funding will help the UM center sustain and expand education and training for professionals and communities to improve the health and well-being of older adults across Montana.



Caroline Stephens, UM lecturer, and Dave Victor, have been named the new co-directors of the Missoula-based PEAS Farm. The 10-acre vegetable production farm is jointly managed by UM and Garden City Harvest. Stephens and Victor say they plan to continue the 20-year legacy of providing healthy local foods to Missoula and meaningful educational experiences to UM students.

Caroline Stephens, UM lecturer, and Dave Victor, M.S. '12. 


UM’s Master in Public Administration Program received national accreditation for the first time in program history by the NASPAA Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation. It is the only accredited MPA program in Montana and the only one in the nation positioned within a law school. The MPA program is housed in UM’s Alexander Blewett III School of Law.

Public administration professionals.


comments powered by Disqus